Tuesday, 10:00am
9 July 2019

Change the rules of the game

The deadline for AWDA, an international, women-only design award, is fast approaching

There are now only a few days left to participate in the AWDA Aiap Women in Design Award 2019. The international award celebrates the work of women within visual communication design. Due to growing interest and demand, the entry deadline has been extended to 15 July 2019 (11:59 pm, Italian time), write organisers Cinzia Ferrara, Laura Moretti, Carla Palladino and Daniela Piscitelli.

This year’s award, AWDA’s fourth edition, partners with the International Council of Design; ADGI; the Indonesian Association of Graphic Designers and Grafill; and the Norwegian Association for Visual Communication.

The award’s objective is to reconstruct a history of graphic design through myriad women professionals who have contributed to design culture. Submissions are open to women designers at every stage of their educational and professional life. AWDA accepts entries from students, freelancers, contracted employees, partners, directors, teachers and writers. Design studios, groups and agencies may also submit works, provided that the team leaders are women.

Glimpses of previous AWDA Awards. Top. AWDA identity designed by Laura Moretti.

AWDA sets out three main aims. Its first is to explore the history of women’s design across the world and highlight parallels in historical and contemporary scenarios. Its second is to reveal the partly hidden female dimension to design that finds new modes of production, in which the feminine qualities of adaptability and flexibility dictate the rules of the game. The award’s final aim is to give a voice to undeclared work, often completed by women designers, in countries where the process of sharing, enhancing and promoting women’s work is yet to be established.

AWDA jury members for 2019.


The AWDA jury comprises Alice Rawsthorn, writer and design critic; Justus Oehler of Pentagram Berlin; Marco Tortoioli Ricci, AIAP President, professor and designer; Nilam P. Moeliono, honorary member of the Indonesian Association of Graphic Designers; Laura Moretti, AWDA curator, professor and designer; and Maria Sætre, board member of Grafill and design leader of Making Waves.

AWDA Aiap Women in Design Award Exhibition, Spazio Sforza Expo Gate, Milan, 2016. Photo © Bianca Sangalli Moretti.


The jury will select the best work in both professional and student categories before assigning the 2019 Award. A separate panel will evaluate the works of the PhD, researchers’ and teachers’ category. This parallel jury is made up of Italian University professors and design critics with international experience.

AWDA will give honourable mentions across all three categories of participation. A separate award will be given by the AWDA curators – Cinzia Ferrara, Laura Moretti, Carla Palladino and Daniela Piscitelli – to recognise a career contribution. The Special Lifetime Achievement Award is addressed to women designers who have distinguished themselves for their professional achievements, who have made a significant contribution to design culture; or both.

For submissions, or more information, visit the AWDA website.

AWDA exhibition, 2016.


Eye is the world’s most beautiful and collectable graphic design journal, published quarterly for professional designers, students and anyone interested in critical, informed writing about graphic design and visual culture. It is available from all good design bookshops and online at the Eye shop, where you can buy subscriptions and single issues.